Thursday, July 24, 2014

Up To Me by Christi Barth

Ella Mayhew is the young owner of Mayhew Manor, a hotel that looks like a castle. Ella's been locked up in herself since her parents tragic death three years ago. When she spots a good looking stranger running across the grounds of the hotel, her hormones kick in. 

Graydon "Gray" Locke is a corporate hitman; his routine, go undercover and assess the business, recommend it for closure and vamoose. When Gray spots Ella, he is captivated. Well that captivation is trouble with a capital T for Gray who is supposed to be assessing the business, not the attractive owner. 

Gray's been lying to Ella since the beginning and falling in love. Ella will do anything to save her family legacy, Mayhew Manor, but does that include turning her back on true love. 

The story was sweet, Gray and Ella are rocking the love at first sight romance. Ella and Gray are very sweet, Gray fully won me over when he admits his favorite Disney movie was "The Little Mermaid"  and that he used to dress up as Prince Eric when he was a kid. That right there won me over. In the story we meet Ella's friends who soon become friends with Gray; and these people are a real riot. The way they act is very realistic, made me think of my friends and how "shut up" never works. This is book 1 in a new series and if this book is anything to go by, the series looks promising. I am hoping the next book in the series will follow Ella's friends Piper and Ward, there were some real fireworks going on there.

Rating 4 out of 5
Read@Book

Wednesday, July 23, 2014

Liquid City, Vol. 3 (Liquid City #3) by Various

Liquid City is a collection of short tales that each usually has some small lesson or token for contemplation. Some stories and illustrations were better than others and that ultimately affected my opinion of the book. Many of these short tales have a rooting in the author's culture. Ultimately I'd still buy this book, so I say read.

Rating 3 out of 5
Read@Book

Naja (Naja #1-5) by Jean-David Morvan, Bengal (Illustrations)

The concept is unique, the illustrations are good and damn if Naja [the main character] not kick some serious ass. 

The story follows Naja a professional assassin, she is ranked number 3 for the organization she works for. When Naja gets attacked and told that the number 1 assassin wants to kill her because he thinks she wants to kill him. That sets in motion the story and the action just keeps coming. 

The story is very up and down and the twist is like whoa. This book may not be everyone's cup of tea or poison, if we want to keep with the assassin theme. 

The drawing style is very Japanese manga and the storyline is dark and gruesome, but it worked; so enjoy.

Rating 4 out of 5
Read@Book

Wednesday, July 16, 2014

Telling Tales by Patience Agbabi

Often a little hard to follow if you're just reading it, I felt that this book should spoken out loud when reading. The rhythm flowed naturally and in a lyrical sort of way. 

I enjoyed the book and if you're a fan of musical poetry, you will enjoy this book. 

Rating 3.5 out of 5
Read@Book

Her Secret, His Surprise by Paula Altenburg

Career driven girl meets cute bartender, they hit it off and spend the night. A month or so later, girl is over the toilet tossing her cookies and uh oh, you guessed it, she's pregnant. Tries to find bartender and if you guessed he's no longer there, then you are correct. 

SKIP ABOUT 2 YEARS [this is where the story really picks up] 

Logan is a CSIS agent [which from what I gathered is like the Canadian NCIS] and former bartender [he was undercover].  

Cass is an engineer, with a cute little baby girl and whole lot to deal with at work. She works for a military contracted company and a lot of people don't like the idea of a woman as a division director [sexist much]. Well, when her car breaks down and her sweet elderly matchmaking neighbor tries to set her up with her grandson, who is coming to live with her, all Cass can think is freeloader. 

If you guessed that the bartending, freeloading grandson is Logan, well good for you.  

When Logan and Cass see each other again, the sparks are still there, but can they make it work, when one has to lie for a living and the other is too focused on success? 

The story was fun and endearing, although it did lose some points for me because the ending felt too blah. I felt the ending needed something extra to really bring closure to the story. It's a fun light read perfect for relaxing after a long stressful day. 

Rating 4 out of 5
Read@Book

Monday, July 14, 2014

ADDICTED BY TRACY WOLFF - BLOG TOUR & GIVEAWAY




 
ADDICTED: An Ethan Frost Novel
A Loveswept New Adult Romance
Written by Tracy Wolff
On sale: July 15, 2014
ISBN: 978-0-553-39438-2
Pages: 304

Find ADDICTED on Goodreads

“I do love you, Chloe.”



Ethan Frost returns in the breathtaking conclusion to New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Tracy Wolff’s seductive novel Ruined—perfect for fans of Release Me and Bared to You.

As Chloe Girard discovers, there’s love . . . and then there’s addiction.

Ethan Frost is everything a woman could want in a man. He’s rich, gorgeous, powerful, one of the most eligible bachelors in the world.

But that’s not why I’m with him.

I love Ethan for all the things no one else gets to see: his innate kindness, his reckless spontaneity, his unwavering determination to use his brilliance for good. I love the way he looks at me, the way he touches me. The way he makes me forget the wreckage of my past and the twisted fear that still lives inside me.

But sometimes it terrifies me how much I crave him, how much I need him just to breathe. I always thought it would be my past that ruined us, but there’s a darkness in Ethan I never dreamed existed. Can we survive as his secrets surface—threatening to unravel us both?

Get your copy of ADDICTED
Amazon  |  B&N Nook  |  ibookstore  |  Google Play  |  Kobo  |  Other retailers


ABOUT TRACY WOLFF


New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Tracy Wolff lives in Texas and teaches writing at her local community college. She is married and the mother of three young sons.

Connect with Tracy

Facebook  |  Twitter 

______________________________________________________
 
After reading "Ruined (Ethan Frost #1) by Tracy Wolff" I ended my review with "The ending of the book tells us there will be a part 2 and OMG is that ending crazy. I'm almost upset with Ms. Wolff for making us wait till July for the sequel. She gets us hooked with this book, gives so much of Chloe's story and not enough of Ethan's, then she goes and gives us the craziest cliffhanger ever."

All I can say is that the wait was worth it. Ms. Wolff really knows how to create an engaging set of characters that keep drawing you in to their story.

At the end of book 1 we have a very shocking cliffhanger and book 2 picks off exactly where book 1 ended. The revelation is so great that it causes great upheaval in Chloe and Ethan's relationship.

Throughout the book Chloe and Ethan keep trying to find a place where the past won't matter; but everytime they take one step forward, it feels like they're taking two steps back.

With all their ups and downs you'll feel like you've just got whiplash, but in the end they are able to face their demons and meet half way to reach their happily ever after.

I would have loved to give this book 5 stars, but I has so many questions about Chloe's roommate [I'm still hoping she gets her own book], her family and most importantly, did the karma bus run over Brandon 5 or 6 times.

Rating 4 out of 5
Read@Book

ADDICTED GIVEAWAY

Loveswept is sponsoring a sexy giveaway for ADDICTED!

Thursday, July 10, 2014

Letter 44 Volume 1: Escape Velocity (Letter 44 #1-6) by Charles Soule (Writer), Alberto Alburquerque (Artist)

Great story, this looks to be a real promising series. 

We've got a new President coming into the White House; but what happens when on day 1 he learns his predecessor has hid a huge secret from the country and the world. 

Now he must make the tough choices and decide if the world really is ready for what awaits up in space. 

At the same time we have a team of brave scientist and soldiers up in space trying to learn if ET is friend or foe. 

You will really enjoy this series and all the conspiracies that come along with the government trying to hide ET.

Rating 4 out of 5
Read@Book